International Training Courses

During the last two decades, facility management has developed as a new career opportunity for scientists in numerous public research institutes and universities around the globe.

However, a clear curriculum or educational program for facility staff is still missing in most places. The Global BioImaging network aims at addressing this gap by either organising or promoting training courses for imaging core facility staff, with particular reference on the subjects of facility management and image data tools.

The goal is to provide educational events for imaging core facility staff while stimulating networking and international cooperation.

In the course of 2016 and 2018, thanks to European H2020 funding, Global BioImaging has organised 5 training courses on the topics of:

  • Management and operation of imaging core facilities
  • Challenges in image data management and analysis
  • BioImage analysis (co-organization by Global BioImaging and Japan's Advanced BioImaging Support)

Fresh round of funding awarded to Global BioImaging in 2020 by Chan Zuckerberg Initiative, new training opportunities in multiple avenues including imaging core facility management and training in image data management and analysis are being prepared and offered to directors/managers and staff of imaging core facilities as indicated in the table below.

Global BioImaging has also developed an international recommendation on training courses for facility staff, which can be downloaded from the Documents Gallery. The recommendation has been prepared by an international panel of experts and describes a general out-set of training courses for core facility staff, with a focus on imaging facility management and administration.

Currently, Global BioImaging organizes in-person training courses at various locations around the globe with the goal of increase capacity of imaging infrastructures.

Upcoming Training Events Feed

Interdisciplinary intercontinental imaging workshop
Aarhus & Copenhagen, Denmark
Start 16 Sep 2024 at 08:00 (CET)
Ends 27 Sep 2024 at 16:00 (CET)
Coming soon
In-person facility management course
Singapore
Start 23 Oct 2024 at 01:00 (UTC)
Ends 25 Oct 2024 at 09:00 (UTC)
Coming soon
In-person image data course
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Start 10 Jun 2024 at 09:00 (CST)
Ends 14 Jun 2024 at 17:00 (CST)
Open for applications
In-person facility management course
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Start 14 Aug 2024 at 09:00 (UTC)
Ends 16 Aug 2024 at 17:00 (UTC)
Coming soon

Past Training Events

Webinar
Virtual
05 Jul 2023
18:00 — 02:00 (JST)
Registration is closed
Webinar
Virtual
05 Jul 2023
13:30 — 14:30 (JST)
Registration is closed
In-person facility management course
Cape Town, South Africa
Start 29 Oct 2023 at 12:00 (SAST)
Ends 31 Oct 2023 at 14:00 (SAST)
Application is closed
In-person train-the-trainer in light microscopy course
Montreal, Canada
Start 24 Jul 2023 at 08:00 (EST)
Ends 28 Jul 2023 at 16:00 (EST)
Application is closed
In-person image data course
Okazaki & Kobe, Japan
Start 03 Jul 2023 at 09:00 (JST)
Ends 07 Jul 2023 at 17:00 (JST)
Application is closed
In-person facility management course
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Start 21 Feb 2023 at 09:00 (UTC)
Ends 24 Feb 2023 at 17:00 (UTC)
Application is closed
Hackathon
Milan, Italy
Start 06 Feb 2023 at 09:00 (CET)
Ends 10 Feb 2023 at 17:00 (CET)
Application is closed
Workshop
Heidelberg, Germany
Start 07 Nov 2022 at 08:00 (CET)
Ends 09 Nov 2022 at 16:00 (CET)
Application is closed
Workshop
Virtual
Start 17 May 2022 at 10:00 (EST)
Ends 31 May 2022 at 12:30 (EST)
07:00 — 09:30 (PST)
16:00 — 18:30 (CET)
Application is closed
Workshop
Virtual
06 Apr 2022
08:00 — 11:00 (EST)
05:00 — 08:00 (PST)
14:00 — 17:00 (CET)
Registration is closed
Webinar Series
Virtual
Start 06 Apr 2022 at 10:00 (EST)
Ends 08 Jun 2022 at 11:00 (EST)
07:00 — 08:00 (PST)
16:00 — 17:00 (CET)
Registration is closed
Hackathon
Virtual
Start 31 Jan 2022 at 15:00 (CET)
Ends 03 Feb 2022 at 17:00 (CET)
Application is closed
Webinar
Virtual
27 Jan 2022
15:00 — 16:00 (CET)
09:00 — 10:00 (EST)
23:00 — 00:00 (JST)
Registration is closed
Workshop
Virtual
26 Jan 2022
15:00 — 17:00 (CET)
09:00 — 11:00 (EST)
23:00 — 01:00 (JST)
Registration is closed
Workshop
Virtual
25 Jan 2022
15:00 — 18:30 (CET)
09:00 — 12:30 (EST)
23:00 — 02:30 (JST)
Application is closed
Webinar Series
Virtual
Start 03 Nov 2021 at 10:00 (CET)
Ends 15 Dec 2021 at 11:00 (CET)
20:00 — 21:00 (AEDT)
Registration is closed
Webinar
Virtual
24 Nov 2021
09:30 — 10:30 (CET)
17:30 — 18:30 (JST)
19:30 — 20:30 (AEDT)
21:30 — 22:30 (NZDT)
Registration is closed
Workshop
Virtual
26 Aug 2021
14:30 — 18:00 (AEDT)
12:30 — 16:00 (JST)
Application is closed
Workshop
Virtual
25 Aug 2021
14:30 — 18:00 (AEDT)
12:30 — 16:00 (JST)
Application is closed
Webinar Series
Virtual
Start 15 Mar 2021 at 09:00 (CET)
Ends 23 Sep 2021 at 10:00 (CET)
17:00 — 18:00 (JST)
19:00 — 20:00 (AEDT)
Registration is closed
Webinar Series
Virtual
Start 24 Jan 2021 at 15:30 (CET)
Ends 25 Jul 2021 at 17:30 (CET)
09:30 — 11:30 (EST)
23:30 — 01:30 (JST)
Application is closed
Workshop
Virtual
Start 14 Jul 2021 at 17:00 (CET)
Ends 15 Jul 2021 at 20:30 (CET)
16:00 — 19:30 (GMT)
11:00 — 14:30 (EST)
Application is closed
Workshop
Virtual
13 Jul 2021
15:00 — 18:00 (CET)
14:00 — 17:00 (GMT)
09:00 — 12:00 (EST)
Registration is closed
Webinar
Virtual
28 Jun 2021
12:00 — 13:00 (CET)
11:00 — 12:00 (GMT)
20:00 — 21:00 (JST)
22:00 — 23:00 (AEDT)
Registration is closed
Webinar
Virtual
17 Jun 2021
08:00 — 09:00 (JST)
10:00 — 11:00 (AEDT)
Registration is closed
Workshop
Virtual
14 Apr 2021
19:00 — 22:00 (CET)
13:00 — 16:00 (EST)
Registration is closed
Workshop
Virtual
13 Apr 2021
08:00 — 11:30 (CET)
16:00 — 19:30 (JST)
Application is closed
Workshop
Virtual
13 Apr 2021
17:00 — 20:00 (CET)
11:00 — 14:00 (EST)
Application is closed
Webinar
Virtual
12 Apr 2021
17:00 — 19:00 (CET)
11:00 — 13:00 (EST)
Registration is closed
Workshop
Virtual
29 Jan 2021
11:00 — 14:00 (CET)
19:00 — 22:00 (JST)
Application is closed
Webinar
Virtual
28 Jan 2021
13:00 — 14:00 (CET)
21:00 — 22:00 (JST)
23:00 — 00:00 (AEDT)
Registration is closed
Workshop
Virtual
28 Jan 2021
11:00 — 13:00 (CET)
19:00 — 21:00 (JST)
21:00 — 23:00 (AEDT)
Application is closed
Workshop
Virtual
27 Jan 2021
11:00 — 14:00 (CET)
19:00 — 22:00 (JST)
21:00 — 00:00 (AEDT)
Application is closed
Training Platform